Building Inspections

The Building department administers all matters related to building and housing administration and we administer the enforcement of building standards, including building inspections, permit administration, and other related matters.

The Waterloo Building Department encourages you to contact us when considering a building project that will alter your home or property. Residents are reminded that they need to contact the building official before finalizing the plans for their building project.


Curent News

The Waterloo Building Inspection Department offers Residential Contractor Exams for those who want to become a licensed contractor with the City of Waterloo.

Available Exam Dates for 2014 are as follows:

  • Saturday, January 18, 2014
  • Saturday, February 15, 2014
  • Saturday, March 15, 2014
  • Saturday, April 19, 2014
  • Saturday, May 17, 2014
  • Saturday, June 21, 2014
  • Saturday, July 19, 2014
  • Saturday, August 16, 2014
  • Saturday, September 20, 2014
  • Saturday, October 18, 2014
  • Saturday, November 15, 2014
  • Saturday, December 20, 2014
Exam times will be 9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. and will be given in the Mollenhoff Room – 2nd Floor – City Hall

YOU MUST SIGN UP FOR THE EXAM ONE (1) WEEK PRIOR TO THE EXAM DATE AND SUBMIT THE $50 EXAM FEE WITH YOUR APPLICATION.

Residential Contractor Exam Resources
Procedure for Licensed Residential Contractor (pdf) | Residential Testing Requirements and Application (pdf)


Beginning July 1, 2010, a base fee of $10.00 will be added to each trade permit.

Online Payments: Our process change for online payments of your electrical, hvac and plumbing permits is still in the process of being updated. Until our finance department authorizes this process, we will continue to bill out for your permits. You may continue to fax in your permits, but we do strongly encourage online application. Either faxed or online applications allow you to perform work now and be billed at the end of the month. In the future – permits will need to be paid for prior to any work being done.

The permit application website is up and running. The address is: www.buildingdepartment.com. Contractors may register online FREE and navigate through our permit system.

For those of you who need assistance with registering and navigating through the permit system, please contact our office.

As a reminder: In the future, our new method for payment will be by check or cash at the time of permit issuance or online payment once the City Finance Department gives full authorization. Permits will need to be paid for prior to any work being done.

We will keep you notified regarding changes and updates as they occur.

Contact Information
Craig Clark, Building Official/Maintenance Administrator
Phone: (319) 291-4319
Email: craig.clark@waterloo-ia.org
Office Hours: Monday to Friday 7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Building Inspection and Permits:
Building Official Maintenance Admin.
715 Mulberry St
Waterloo IA 50703
Phone: (319) 291-4319